Peer review and Gold Standard

NPSS is synonymous with the Gold Standard programme; a review scheme designed to support councils deliver more efficient and cost effective homelessness prevention services.

The Gold Standard begins with councils participating in a practitioner review of their frontline homelessness service

in preparation for applying for each of the 10 Local Challenges.

By achieving the 10 Local Challenges, local authorities are able to demonstrate that they have in place a comprehensive prevention focused service for all customers.

The Gold Standard begins with a Diagnostic Practitioner Review (DPR) which supports councils to:

  • Assess how they are preventing and tackling homelessness
  • Identify key strengths and weaknesses in service delivery by identifying gaps in provision and highlighting good practice
  • Identify recommendations for service improvement
  • Develop effective improvement plans to help maximise homelessness prevention where possible
  • Help to make the best use of current resources

Local authority achievements

Gold Standard authorities

  • Basildon Borough Council
  • City of York Council
  • Dacorum Borough Council
  • Hambleton District Council
  • Hart District Council
  • London Borough of Southwark
  • Mole Valley District Council
  • Norwich City Council
  • Oxford City Council
  • Ryedale District Council
  • Stafford Borough Council
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council
  • The Royal Borough of Greenwich
  • Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Winchester City Council

Silver Standard authorities

  • Bath & North East Somerset Council
  • Borough of Poole
  • Cheshire East Council
  • City of London Corporation
  • Colchester Borough Council
  • Cornwall Council
  • Derby City Council
  • East Cambridgeshire District Council
  • Mendip District Council
  • Salford City Council
  • Selby District Council
  • South Oxfordshire and Vale of White Horse District Council
  • Waverley Borough Council
  • Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council
  • West Berkshire District Council

Bronze Standard authorities

  • Barrow in Furness Borough Council
  • Bournemouth Borough Council
  • Braintree District Council
  • Bristol City Council
  • Carlisle County Council
  • Cherwell County Council
  • Christchurch and East Dorset District Council
  • Craven District Council
  • Darlington Borough Council
  • Doncaster Council
  • Dudley Metropolitan Council
  • Harrogate Borough Council
  • Leeds City Council
  • Newark & Sherwood District Council
  • North East Derbyshire District Council
  • North West Leicestershire District Council
  • Reigate and Banstead Borough Council
  • Richmondshire District Council
  • Sefton Council
  • Solihul Metropolitan Borough Council
  • South Gloucestershire Council
  • South Lakeland District Council
  • South Somerset District Council
  • St Albans City & District Council
  • Stockton on Tees Borough Council
  • Stoke County Council
  • Surrey Health Borough Council
  • Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Test Valley Borough Council
  • Thurock Council
  • Tower Hamlets Council
  • Trafford Council